Starting over stinks!


Okay, so, maybe it actually SUCKS, but I figured I didn’t want to start my blog off with such an offensive title.  This first post is basically to introduce myself and explain the purpose.

If I’m being completely honest?  I really don’t understand, myself, why I’ve decided to do this.  I suppose, in part, it has to do with my recent breakup with a man with whom I fell head over heels in love.  When I entered into this relationship, I was so sure it’d be my last.  We had already talked about our wedding!!  I know, I know.. I’m almost 38 years old.  I should have known better– used some common sense– seen the warning signs– listened to my friends– not gone all in.

But, see, I have a defense…

I guess some people would call me naive, gullible, love-struck , or perhaps just plain stupid.  I like to call myself a hopeless romantic.  When I fall? I fall fast, and I fall hard.  I give everything to my significant other– I hold nothing back.  I have my insecurities and doubts, but I always believe if I just love enough, or give enough, or share enough, or …..  well, there are a million things I could put here.  But I bet pretty much every woman (and even some men) has heard and/or said it all before.  I always go in believing that my significant other will not only accept my giving, but return them in kind.

I’m usually wrong.

So, I suppose I am taking this recent heartbreak to re-assess what it is I really want out of life, love, and myself.

I am beginning a personal challenge– I am going to get myself healthy– both physically and emotionally– and I plan on documenting it every step of the way.  I have Type 2 Diabetes, anxiety, depression, and weight issues.  I am going to be taking on the treadmill, clean eating, and self-reflection. I do not know what is going to happen, or how it will affect me, my children, my family or my friends, but I suppose I will use this as my warning to them all?  😉

I hope that you will follow, encourage, and perhaps even join me in my challenge……… Until next time….

Leave a Reply

